Cheesy Garlic Cauliflower Bread Sticks – Redux

Phenomenal!  Just Phenomenal!

So I have been tooling around from time to time on Pinterest and I found a picture that made me pin it on my board about low carb food.  I stole this post from the blog “Mom, What’s for Dinner” (which apparently Christi, the author there borrowed from a completely DIFFERENT blog called “Eat Drink Smile” - Let’s just say, this recipe’s been around around the block a little bit.. ;) ) but, of course, I have to tweak these things to my liking and see how I can improve upon them.

I won’t get into the super details but I like food, I like GOOD food and I get sick of eating Chicken breast or Chicken this or chicken that or healthy this or that all the time, which makes eating good food tough for me.  Maybe I’ll write a life story for you someday about how fantastic international food was ingrained in my head from travelling the world during childhood.

However let’s get to the point.  This is like cheezy bread that you would get from your favorite pizza joint.  Maybe better.  Of course I have to make this again.  The first time I think I made it pretty good, but I think next time I will have to tweak the recipe just a bit, which is my wont, adding a little bit more time on the timer for the original baking of the crust, maybe like 17-20 minutes, and not putting so much butter on it, maybe just a teaspoon instead of 2 tablespoons.  And finally for the kicker, this needs HAM.

How in the hell can you make this recipe without Ham and Cheese?  ;)

Oh and one thing that may make a bit of a difference is, this time I used all Motz for the crust recipe, since I forgot to get parm.  So I will have to try it with half parm like I’m supposed to next time.  Perhaps that will firm up the crust a little more.  If not, Then I’ll just up the time a few minutes.  Stay tuned to the comments section.  I will do a little update there on my next creation of this creation.

But I will tell you this.  I just finished the first go at this and it is completely gone.  It is, apparently, healthy.

Healthy how:

  • Low Carb
  • Gluten Free
  • Grain Free
  • Has Veggies – as a matter of fact the crust is made pretty much half from veggies.

Again, I love food and after eating this I totally feel guilty.  I suppose I was suppose to share it or save some for tomorrow but no such luck.  It is gone.  Bye Bye!  It’s THAT good.  I need to find me more recipes like this for those days where my body is like, “Hey, can we go eat shitty food today!?”

So enough of my babbling.  Here we go with:

Cheesy Garlic Cauliflower Bread Sticks – Reblog

From:

A few days back I made pizza from Cauliflower and it turned out awesome. So I started thinking… what about garlic cheese bread? Oh yeah… it turned out even more awesome. This recipe is going to make you happy if you are grain free or Celiac. I wish I would have known about this recipe back in the days I was trying the Atkins diet! Super Yummy! 

Gluten Free, Grain Free Cheesy Garlic Cauliflower Bread Sticks 
Adapted from Eat. Drink. Smile.
1 cup cooked, riced cauliflower
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp crushed garlic
1/2 tsp garlic salt
For Topping:
2 tablespoons softened salted butter
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/4 cup grated mozzarella cheese
*Optional Marinara sauce for dipping

Save Now

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Chop the cauliflower florets into chunks and steam them in a steamer or on the stove until slightly soft for 15 minutes. Place in a ricer or grate.
One large head should produce approximately 3 cups of riced cauliflower. The remainder can be used to make additional pizza crusts immediately, or can be stored in the refrigerator for up to one week.
To Make the Bread:
Prepare your baking stone or sheet by spreading a small amount of olive oil on it and top with parchment paper.
In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup cauliflower, egg, Parmesan and Mozzarella. Add oregano, crushed garlic and garlic salt, stir.
Transfer to the baking stone or sheet, and using your hands, pat out into a large rectangle.
Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes.
Remove from oven.
Mix 2 TBSP butter and garlic in a small bowl and.spread the butter and garlic mixture over baked cauliflower bread and top with Parmesan and Mozzarella cheeses.
Place back in the 450 degree oven until all cheese is melted.

Slice and Serve!
PS – Stay tuned because I will be adding more Low Carb Yumness to this blog from time to time.  Also what do you guys think?  Any variations?  Have you tried this yet?  Feel free to tell me how you would make this even better OR do you know something similar that would be just as amazing?
Anyway, until next time.
Cheers!
7 responses to “Cheesy Garlic Cauliflower Bread Sticks – Redux

  1. Mmm, delicious. I’ll be going back on a low carb diet after spring break in a couple weeks, so I’ll definitely stop by again. I just have a hard time keeping it up when I’m on vacation, but I felt much better when I ate strictly low carb for a month and a half before Christmas.

    • Ha, you’re on Vacation. That’s one big problem, living in Chicago makes it feel like I’m on Vacation all the time as far as the food I want to try here.

      I know people who NEVER cook at home. The thing is, while some people have pretty magical metabolisms where they seem to be able to eat whatever and be ok, there are things I eat that just seem to stick to me.

      So I gotta get creative. This was my second experiment. The first thing I tried were low carb chimichangas which were good as hell.

      Moral of the story is, I can do this, I just gotta keep playing creative.

      But F that! You’re on Vacation. EAT! ;)

      • Haha. You know people that never cook at home? Somehow that makes me cringe :P I really need to get better at this myself, and a low carb diet was what worked best for me. The first week or so was worst, but after that I almost stopped craving candy and junk food all together! And, like you said, being creative is the key. It’s when I get bored with what I eat that I say “fuck this” and eat a bag of chips… hehe.

        • ya – in Chicago it’s too easy to not have to cook. We have grubhub.com, eat24.com etc where you can virtually get any type of food delivered to you door. Then there’s blocks of restaurants all over the place. I live up by Vietnam Town so it’s like there are 20 or so Asian restaurants within walking distance and that DOESN’T count mexican, american, indian, brunch and junk. Literally it’s too easy here.

          The PROBLEM is none of that shit is really healthy. lol

The Luuhhhvvve.

