How to receive a Free Sleep Disorders Test

It’s no secret that times are tough. People are losing their insurance and their job. Or maybe you haven’t ever had insurance because you can’t afford it. Still you find yourself or a loved one suffering at night because of a possible sleep disorder such as Obstructive Sleep Apnea where people snore, eventually stop breathing, and snort themselves awake.

This is a serious medical condition with a very simple solution. The only problem is that you can’t afford a sleep study. I will tell you steps you can take to get a free sleep disorders study.

Difficulty:  Moderately Challenging

Instructions: 

Things You’ll Need

  • A phone.
  • Interpersonal skills
    • 1
      Upper Airway Anatomy

      First, identify if you have a problem. Have you ever had anyone tell you that you stop breathing? Have you ever caught yourself choking when you wake up? Do you snore? Is your neck size above 18 inches? Is your Body Mass Index (BMI) above 30.0?

      All of these are positive screening for sleep apnea.

    • 2
      Religion Based Hospital

      Find a sleep center near you and if there are any programs available to get sleep studies for people in need, but who can’t afford it.

      Tips: Ask to speak with the lab coordinator. This is most successful when asking a sleep lab that is affiliated with a HOSPITAL that is FAITH BASED.

      The hospital I’m affiliated with is advertising: “Serving the Poor During the Most Challenging of Times.”

    • 3

      You get a lab to agree to study you for free. That’s great!!

      Now jump through hoops to be as accommodating and appreciative as possible. Make every appointment that is required and arrive to the lab early on the day of testing. Say thank you like you’re getting paid $10 every time the words escape your lips and mean every one of them.

    • 4

      If you do have sleep apnea, many labs have patients that don’t want to wear CPAP (The treatment for Sleep Apnea) for whatever reason and return them to the Sleep Center. These are then donated to patients who TA DAAAAaaaa…..can’t afford one or don’t have insurance.

      You may not get one with all the bells and whistles, but your life threatening sleep apnea will be treated.

    • 5

      Send thank you letters and let the local news know what they did for you. Why not? They just gave you a $6,000 service for nothing. A stamp on a heartfelt letter and a call to the local news is the least you can do to say thank you.

      We have a wall of just such thank you letters we keep in our break room to remind us of what healthcare is all about.

 Tips & Warnings
  •  Always be friendly.
  •  Always be appreciative.
  •  Make all your appointments and be there early. Otherwise you’ll be disregarded (and rightly so)
(If you are the original author of this, please contact me so I can give you credit.  The original website this was posted on removed this article and I found it in google cache – and thought this was too important to let disappear!)
4 responses to “How to receive a Free Sleep Disorders Test

  1. Pingback: curesleepapneawithoutcpapnew – ApneaTreatmentGuide.com | HealthAndFitnessCure.com

  2. Pingback: wireless lapel microphone – What Happens When You Have Been Prescribed a Sleep Study? – How To Budget Your Money Smart | How To Budget Your Money Smart

  3. I’m going to comment on this real fast and say, I’m getting a sleep study from a university that is actually paying me to take it, not vice versa.

    So if you have colleges around you email the admins of their sleep studies section or just start emailing them. I sent out about 15 or 20 emails to various places, colleges, private sleep study centers, religion based hospitals, etc. I ended up getting 2 responses. 1 of them was actually favorable.

    Put yourself out there. I was so desperate and in zombie mode I figured instead of laying there battling sleep I would take steps, even in zombie mode, to at least try and help myself. Now I am going in this month for my prelim where they are paying me $100 and giving me a free sleep study on top of that!

  4. I have bad spells at night! I wake up several times gasping for air . my body jerks and wakes me up all night. Also I am afraid to go to sleep because I know what I will go through. I’m so exhausted and its getting worse. Last night was bad, I was not breathing but when I caught my breath my heart was skipping beast and I was dizzy. I have no insurance.. I do not know what to do! The last month I’ve been not able to concentrate like normal. I’m forgetting things and know its because I’m so tired. My husband said I snore so loud and jump and jerk throughout the night.. Something is bad wrong. I’m afraid I’m not going to wake up when I lay down.I can’t keep doing this. My body is wore out. 😦

Leave a Comment

