Boxers

Losing in front of your home crowd
You wish the ground
Would open up and take you down
And will time never pass ?
Will time never pass for us ?

Your weary wife is walking away
Your nephew is true
Well, he thinks the world of you
And I have to close my eyes
Oh …

Losing in front of your home town
The crowd call your name
They love you all the same
The sound, the smell, and the spray
You will take them all away
And they’ll stay
Till the grave

Your weary wife is walking away
Your nephew, is true
Well, he thinks the world of you
And I have to close my eyes
Oh …

Losing in your home town
Hell is the bell
That will not ring again
You will return one day
Because of all the things that you see
When your eyes close

Your weary wife – walking away
Your nephew, it’s true
He still thinks the world of you
And I have to dry my eyes

~By Morrissey

4 responses to “Boxers

  1. I guess that’s one way to post a song of the day. Though I gotta say, I hadn’t pegged you for a Morrissey fan. Morrissey: the original emo. It’s okay, you don’t have to cry. I blame that guy, in part, for what has become of the portion of our youth that would otherwise be the ones standing up and making valid statements about the world today. It’s Morrissey fans that spawned these little bastards. But I don’t have to go on about it. I’ve already done that: http://ambermthille.wordpress.com/frustration-flowers-poems-of-growth-and-change/bleeding-flower-phase-seven/

    • Morrissey.

      There was a time the songs spoke to me as I was. Now they speak to me as I am but differently.

      But, alas, I figure the emo kids these days probably don’t actually know about the Smiths or Morrissey unless someone from the old school introduces them.

      Music tastes – Ronnie Libra’s music tastes are like a kid in a Candy store and span ALL OVER the place except for most pop music and the most depressing and uncreative music of all – Country.

      Other than that I spread my wings and experience everything and I do mean everything. Skinny Puppy, Morcheeba, Tricky, Bjork, Tribe Called Quest, New Order, Cure, Mother Love Bone, Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Yann Tierson, Stephane Pompougnac, Saint Germain, Daft Punk, Black Flagg, Dirtbombs, Djs across the board like Carl Cox, Loco Dice, Mark Farina (but not so much the crappy DJs that alot of the Bros like, ie. Tiesto, Claude Von Stroke and all that popular trash), and a shitload of music I can’t possibly name right now.

    • Maybe a litlle but not in anyway related to anything I wrote. I was listening to pandora and this song popped on. It took me back to a time when my father was still alive, I was unhappy and used to listen to songs like this and sing along in the car, or while wearing headphones and rocking myself to sleep.

      Used to get high just to pass the time. Music and wine were the only friends of mine.

      My father is now passed on as of 2006. His name and mine are the same. His birthday and mine are the same. I miss that fucker…

Leave a Comment

