The Best Margarita Recipe Ever!?

Margarita cocktail

Margarita cocktail (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(There is a song in my head that I cannot think of the Artist of at the moment since it’s in Mexican.  I REFUSE to put any Jimmy Buffet garbage on my blog.  SOOooo  No song of the day.  Once I remember the song I am trying to think of or find a suitable substitute I will replace my ranting.) 😉

(Edit Note – Jan 2014:  The ORIGINAL Article that had comments in the Hundreds over at Hodges Lab website is gone.  I think that blog has gone under after many years so this actually has become a preservation of sorts by a recipe that hundreds of commenters in that post SWORE by!)

Ya ya ya, am I late?  We just missed Cinco de Mayo.  However, it’s getting warmer out and soon lots and lots of people will be drinking margaritas regardless of what day it is.  So allow me to be of service…

I had to add the question marks.  Saying a drink recipe is the BEST is relative.  It’s like people that love red wine saying they don’t like Merlot.

For the record it’s IMPOSSIBLE to not like Merlot because I doubt seriously that ANYONE on this fine planet has had the opportunity to try every flavor profile of Merlot out there.  There are so many different profiles created by Merlot grapes that you can put two Merlots next to each other and they could be COMPLETELY different.  Why do people say they don’t like Merlot?  Because of a stupid Line in a Stupid Wine Movie.

Actually, the reason to why Miles wont drink Merlot is, that in the book “Sideways” by Rex Pickett, the wine he’s saving for his ex-wife’s return is a 1961 Pétrus (…An estate of limited size, it produces a limited production red wine almost entirely from Merlot grapes,…)  and NOT a 1961 Cheval Blanc. But Pétrus (which is 100% Merlot) didn’t give permission to use their label and the director therefore changed the manuscript into a Cheval Blanc.

Miles doesn’t want to be reminded of his wife when spending an evening with Maya – a new girl he’s actually is interest in.

Not many knows this.

So next time you try to seem Wine Savvy by trying to shit all over Merlot, just be proud of the fact that not only are you letting your decisions be based on FICTION, but that you are also basing your “savvy” wine deference on a fictitious character’s relationship with his wife that has nothing to do with the quality of a grape, or the wine produced from it.

Now that my wine snobbery is over…

Anyway, the point is the same as far as cocktail recipes.  You can make almost every drink several different ways and one person will like it sweet while another person likes is sour while another person wants to taste the booze in it etc.  However, that being said, this is a fucking good Margarita recipe, and it sure beats vodka, ice and lemon-lime powerade in a blender (No really, I have heard a guy swear by that version saying “Dude, chicks can’t tell the difference.”)  So enough of my blabbing except to say I have tweaked this (on my own but not the ingredients below) by adding both the Cointreau and Grand Marnier (splashes) or have added a splash of Patron Citronge to the mix.  The key is to NOT use sour mix at all in my opinion.  If you can do that, you are Golden.

By the way, this was posted at a science blog, which I think is kinda funny and ironic, but cool nonetheless.

Here we go:

The Best Margarita Recipe Ever from Hodges Lab

Have you ever gone to a restaurant because of their margaritas? 

When I’m back in Dallas, I love the margaritas at El Fenix, Pappasito’s, and even Chili’s. But try to go home and find the recipes. All the recipes on the Internet are all the same: tequila, triple sec, lime juice, maybe some sour mix… make them and they always misssomething. I’ve been buying out my local Beverages ‘n More to find that missing ingredient, and I think I finally got it.

Below is the best margarita recipe, capturing the something that makes a restaurant margarita so much better than the homemade versions:

  • Two parts tequila (good tequila is always better…)
  • Half part Grand Marnier (this is a critical part… trust me, don’t go cheap on the citrus liqueur. Cointreau also goes very well, but really doesn’t have the same aromatic flavor that Grand Marnier has; try them side-by-side; they have totally different flavors… if you cheat here with Triple Sec or Orange Curaçao, you must add a dash of orange bitters!)
  • Half part fresh lime juice.
  • Half part fresh lemon juice.
  • Half part simple syrup.
  • Half part Limoncello (a fairly inexpensive type of lemon liqueur that isn’t sour but has lots of big citrus flavor… this is, I think, the secret ingredient in most restaurant margaritas— that extra citrus flavor adds a lot without making the drink more tart).
  • Pinch of salt. Very little will go a long way… alternatively, rim the glass with coarse salt.

Mix with a bunch of ice cubes in a shaker and shake violently for about 15 seconds (until ice starts to crystallize on the outside of your metal shaker). Pour contents into an old-fashioned glass and, for a nice visual appeal, you can finish with a drop of grenadine (let it sink to the bottom for a sweet finish). Add a couple of skinny straws and a slice of lime if you like. Trust me!

Hint: too strong for your taste? Stir in some lemon-lime soda— don’t shake!

(†) In Texas, we really enjoy our margaritas.

UPDATE: After fiddling with this for a while, I’ve found that it’s better to use fresh lime and syrup rather than sour mix. Even though there are good sour mixes out there (I’m talking about you, Dr. Swami and Bone Daddy), I find they don’t have quite the same freshness as when you use a fresh lime. In any case, if you can’t get fresh limes or don’t have five minutes to make simple syrup, you can substitute a quality sour mix—no neon yellow stuff, please!—for the lime juice and simple syrup above.

Enjoi

2 responses to “The Best Margarita Recipe Ever!?

  1. As a huge fan of the original Hodges Lab margarita (I have used this margarita recipe for years now and it never fails to impress people… and knock them on their butts too) thanks for re-posting this. I had the recipe memorized, but sometimes after a couple of these one needs to fall back to the documentation.

    • Your welcome. I’m glad I did reblog this Looks like Hodges Lab is Kaput for good. I even tried seaching for “Hodges Lab” best margarita recipe and nothing came up but my article.

      That’s the second article in my blog I posted, that I think is a great article that disappeared from the original site.

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Comment

